Ministry of Tourism Awards the Best 30 Designs of Souvenir Center Design Competition 2018 – ARCHINESIA
Widget Image

Ministry of Tourism Awards the Best 30 Designs of Souvenir Center Design Competition 2018

Ministry of Tourism Awards the Best 30 Designs of Souvenir Center Design Competition 2018

After going through the judging process, the awarding night of the Tourism Souvenir Center Design Competition 2018 was held at Borobudur Hotel, Jakarta, on 30 November 2018. This annual competition is organized by the Ministry of Tourism (Kemenpar), Creative Economy Agency (Bekraf) and PT Propan Raya, also supported by BRI. The event began with opening remarks from the Chief Executive and Deputy of Tourism Destination Development, Dadang Rizki Ratman, and continued with another remark from the Minister of Tourism, Arief Yahya.

Arief Yahya, the Minister of Tourism, opened the awarding night.

This event is an implementation of President Joko Widodo’s instruction to develop ten Indonesian priority tourism destinations as “The New Balis”. The design of a souvenir center is chosen as this year’s theme to accommodate the locally handcrafted souvenirs and local architecture. Souvenir is also chosen since it is a part of craft sub-sector which ranks third in terms of total contribution towards creative economy industry after culinary and fashion. Souvenir centers are hoped to fulfill the needs of amenities to support the growth of tourism in each destination.

The board of jury announced the winners.

Yori Antar, the Head of Jury of this competition, commenced the awarding ceremony. In his speech, he mentioned that this competition was a unique chance for architects and interior designers to develop Indonesian architecture (arsitektur Nusantara) not limited to traditional house typology throughout Indonesia. There were ten categories based on ten Indonesian priority tourism destinations being awarded, namely Lake Toba (North Sumatra), Tanjung Kelayang (Bangka Belitung), Tanjung Lesung (Banten), Kepulauan Seribu & Kota Tua (DKI Jakarta), Borobudur (Central Java), Bromo– Tengger-Semeru (East Java), Mandalika (Lombok –NTB), Labuan Bajo (Flores –NTT), Wakatobi (Southeast Sulawesi) and Morotai (North Maluku).

This year’s competition saw 285 registered teams with a total of 466 submissions. The awards were bestowed to the 1st place, 2nd, and 3rd for each destination. These winners were fully determined by the jury team including Yori Antar (Professional Architect), Endy Subijono (Professional Architect), Anneke Prasyanti (Head of the Tourism Village Development Acceleration Team), Hari Sungkari (Deputy of the Creative Economy Infrastructure Agency) and Lea Aziz (Head of the Indonesian Interior Designers Association). In addition to three winners per destination, an overall winner was also chosen as the best works among all categories. Prizes were awarded by the Minister of Tourism Arief Yahya and accompanied by the jury team.

Below is the list of the first-place winners of the Tourism Souvenir Center Design Competition 2018:

  1. Danau Toba: PARTUNGKOAN TOBA (Team Leader: Ezra Ganesha Prihardanu)
  2. Tanjung Kelayang: PERENGGAN KHAGESWARA (Team Leader: Cosmas D. Gozali)
  3. Tanjung Lesung: IMAH KRIYA (Team Leader: Muhammad Muhjar Annur)
  4. Kepulauan Seribu & Kota Tua: ATAP TOEA JAKARTA (Team Leader: Muhammad Hadyan)
  5. Borobudur: WATU JEJER (Team Leader: Fauzia Evanindya)
  6. Bromo – Tengger – Semeru: WATU MURUP (Team Leader: Muhammad Hilmy Arieza)
  7. Mandalika: BE.LA.JU (Team Leader: Harly Valiant Noviano)
  8. Labuan Bajo: THE DRAGON TAIL (Team Leader: Hariman)
  9. Wakatobi (Overall Winner): TITIAN D’LAO (Team Leader: Aditya Tri Suwito)
  10. Morotai: LABUANG BAILEO (Team Leader: Cosmas D. Gozali)

(Article by Fildzah Raihan and Nurin Pramudani)

Written by

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
background color : #CCCC